Deborah Liske

From: Corporate Services

Subject: FW: Letter to Victoria & Esquimalt Councils from Police Board **Attachments:** 220322 Letter to COV & Esq councils re FA amendment.pdf

From: Thomson, Collette < Collette. Thomson@vicpd.ca >

Sent: March-22-22 12:21 PM

To: Colleen Mycroft <<u>cmycroft@victoria.ca</u>>; Sarah Holloway <<u>Sarah.Holloway@esquimalt.ca</u>>; Deb Hopkins

<Deb.Hopkins@esquimalt.ca>; Crystal-Ann Anderson <<u>cranderson@victoria.ca</u>>

Subject: Letter to Victoria & Esquimalt Councils from Police Board

Hello everyone,

Please find attached a letter from the Police Board to both Councils.

Thank you.



Collette Thomson

Executive Assistant
Office of the Chief Constable &
Victoria & Esquimalt Police Board
Victoria Police Department
850 Caledonia Ave
Victoria, BC V8T 5J8
T: 250-995-7217
collette.thomson@vicpd.ca



VICTORIA & ESQUIMALT POLICE BOARD

March 22, 2022

City of Victoria Council Esquimalt Council

Dear Councillors:

CORPORATION OF		
RECEIVED: _	March 23, 2022	
For Information	CAOMay	or/Council
Other		
Referred to: _	Deb H	
ForAction _	_Response _	_Report
For Agenda 🗡	CouncilC	OTW_IC

RE: Request for Amendment to the Framework Agreement

In early 2015, the Victoria & Esquimalt Police Board adopted a Co-chair Terms of Reference which stipulates that the Mayor of Victoria and the Mayor of Esquimalt each assume the "Lead Co-chair" and "Deputy Co-chair" positions on a rotating basis. This arrangement has worked well for the past seven years, and it is recommended that the Framework Agreement be amended to formally reflect this way of working together.

The Victoria & Esquimalt Police Board passed a motion on March 15, 2022 requesting that the Township of Esquimalt and the City of Victoria approve the following wording to replace section 3.2 Co-Chairs of the Framework Agreement to read:

The Co-chairs of the Board are the Mayor of Victoria and the Mayor of Esquimalt. One Co-chair will serve as the Lead Co-chair and the other Co-chair will serve as the Deputy Co-chair. The Co-chairs will alternate between Lead Co-chair and Deputy Co-chair every two years, unless the Co-chairs agree on another length of time.

Section 3.2 of the Framework Agreement currently reads as follows:

Although the 2002 Order in Council provides that the mayor of Victoria is the chair of the amalgamated board and the Mayor of Esquimalt is the vice-chair, the Parties agree to explore an alternative arrangement by which the two mayors would act as co-chairs of the Board.

The Framework Agreement governs the relationship among the Police Board, the Township of Esquimalt Council, and the City of Victoria to ensure that adequate and effective policing is provided in both communities. It is important that this document accurately reflect agreed upon changes to practice. We request that both Councils endorse this proposed change to the Framework Agreement.

Sincerely,

Mayor Lisa Helps Lead Co-Chair Mayor Barbara Desjardins Deputy Co-Chair

Darbara Degardens

850 CALEDONIA AVE VICTORIA, BC V8T 5J8 250.995.7217 www.vicpd.ca